AIR : LAND : SEA : FIGHT!

Fighting 99th Forum

Capturing areas

6 years 9 months ago
Southpaw
More
Topic Author
Capturing areas #8312
I'm relatively new to mission editing, but I'm coming along with it quite quickly. I've got MIST and CTLD operating correctly.

One thing I can't quite figure out is how the "capturing" of areas that aren't bases is accomplished. The example that I am thinking of is Capture of Echo Bay. Is this script based, or is this a basic function of the mission editor? If it's a 99th secret, I understand, but I figure it's got to be common knowledge. I jut can't find anything on it online.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

6 years 9 months ago
pyromaniac4002
More
Capturing areas #8315
Oh, nothing special about it really, just a lot of triggers and trigger zones.

The trigger zones define the actual spot on the map and then you use triggers to detect (in the case of Echo Bay) when all of red coalition is out of the area and blue coalition is in, then it's considered captured. From there there's a couple of other triggers controlling the smoke color and there's a bit of a timer that's set up between a couple of different flag values so you can time out the smoke refreshes (the default smoke lasts 5 minutes once it's placed, can't get rid of it or change color until it's done). Then it's just a matter of setting some triggers for whatever win/loss criteria you have and you can reload the mission or move on to another one.

6 years 9 months ago
Southpaw
More
Topic Author
Capturing areas #8318
Interesting. I figured that was how it was done, just couldn't quite articulate it in my mind. Thanks!

6 years 9 months ago
Southpaw
More
Topic Author
Capturing areas #8319
I'm messing with the editor now. How exactly do you go about making the smoke continuous?

6 years 9 months ago
Cygon_Parrot
More
Capturing areas #8321
In the bog standard ME? I'd do this...

Make a ONCE trigger with action SET FLAG VALUE to 100.