Splash and Crash on new computer

Ask Questions & Get Help.
User avatar
corn950
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: 23 Oct 2016, 13:15
United States of America

Splash and Crash on new computer

#1

Post by corn950 » 15 May 2017, 04:30

Hello everyone, Having an issue with my new desktop at home. I have never been able to get DCS to play after the splash screen.
Win 10 Pro
i7-6950X @ 3.00Ghz
Dual GTX 1080 Founders
64 GB Ram
Acer X34

With 1.5 I get a DX11 Shader renderer Error right after the splash screen.
With 2.0 I can load all the way in as soon as I load a mission it hangs up and get the windows error that is has stopped working and shuts down. any help would be awesome...

Thanks
Chuck

User avatar
runny
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 719
Joined: 21 Jun 2015, 01:40
Location: Alberta
Canada

Re: Splash and Crash on new computer

#2

Post by runny » 15 May 2017, 05:30

I assume you've updated all the drivers for your new rig?
Image

User avatar
corn950
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: 23 Oct 2016, 13:15
United States of America

Re: Splash and Crash on new computer

#3

Post by corn950 » 15 May 2017, 05:38

all drivers are updated

Cygon_Parrot
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Posts: 826
Joined: 01 Jul 2015, 03:30
Ecuador

Re: Splash and Crash on new computer

#4

Post by Cygon_Parrot » 15 May 2017, 05:54

Everything else okay? No occasionally flickering desktop?

I know the fps is going to suck for a moment, but just for a test, bypass the GTX 1080s, use the onboard graphics, and see if it still happens. (You'll probably need to take them out, if you can't temporarily disable your PCIe slots from BIOS).

These GTX 1080s seem to be quirky beasts. I had some initial issues with my own, and they play up in a way that makes you think there is something up with the OS, rather than the GPU's.

If you single out that it is the GPU setup, knock the refresh rate down on the monitor, and turn off Vsync on everything.

User avatar
TracerFacer
Colonel
Colonel
Posts: 1271
Joined: 24 Jun 2015, 10:25
Location: North Dallas Burbs
United States of America

Re: Splash and Crash on new computer

#5

Post by TracerFacer » 15 May 2017, 14:03

also might try pulling one of the cards and see if all is well.. then swap the cards and check it again.. see if both cards will run successfully one at a time..

Maybe it's the SLI config itself that DCS doesn't like.
Image

User avatar
pyromaniac4002
Colonel
Colonel
Posts: 1483
Joined: 21 Jun 2015, 02:45
Location: Orange County, California
United States of America

Re: Splash and Crash on new computer

#6

Post by pyromaniac4002 » 15 May 2017, 14:57

Yeah, the only thing that jumps out to me as a potential source of trouble is the SLI. Nvidia seems to very grudgingly support 2-way SLI as a holdout, but otherwise it seems like they'd just have everyone run single cards again. And with a developer as lazy as ED, I could imagine them jumping on that "F SLI" bandwagon very enthusiastically, but I don't recall having seen them mention anything about it one way or the other.

But that's a helluva rig you've put together there. Well done.
Image

User avatar
corn950
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: 23 Oct 2016, 13:15
United States of America

Re: Splash and Crash on new computer

#7

Post by corn950 » 15 May 2017, 15:18

I keep thinking the same thing, but everything else I can play with zero issues. no desktop flicker. Monitor refresh is set at 75, ill disable Vsync and see if that helps.

Edit.... Nope same issue..... DCS has stopped working!!!

Cygon_Parrot
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Posts: 826
Joined: 01 Jul 2015, 03:30
Ecuador

Re: Splash and Crash on new computer

#8

Post by Cygon_Parrot » 15 May 2017, 23:07

What?

You've tried the trouble-shooting with the 1080s taken out, or just with one (as per Tracer's suggestion)?

If so, it is almost undoubtedly a DCS install problem, then.

PS; Or do you mean you've only tried with the Vsync off, as yet? In any case, make sure it is set to off in DCS options AND in the NVidia control panel. And while you are there, make sure DSR is turned off on Global settings, too.

Aaand...

What make are the GPUs? EVGA? They probably won't need it, but there was some firmware flash out for the GTX 1080, for older ones. I checked with mine, while I was trouble-shooting my issues, but it already had it applied stock.

User avatar
corn950
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: 23 Oct 2016, 13:15
United States of America

Re: Splash and Crash on new computer

#9

Post by corn950 » 16 May 2017, 07:20

I just did the Vsync. the cards are actual Nvidia cards. so I checked all drivers again, made sure the settings were correct. I didn't want to start pulling GPU's and swapping because everything else is working flawless. I updated the BIOS and the chipset drivers and was able to get it going for now... I will trouble shoot it more when I get back from Iraq. My laptop works great still so I will be on a lot as soon as a get back over with Tom....

Cygon_Parrot
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Posts: 826
Joined: 01 Jul 2015, 03:30
Ecuador

Re: Splash and Crash on new computer

#10

Post by Cygon_Parrot » 16 May 2017, 14:25

It would seem pyro is wholly right about SLI being unsupported on DCS. I found some thread at the NVidia forums about it here. It is over a year old, but 1.5 and 2.0 are both mentioned. It would seem from the content that there is a way to get it to work, after some "elbow grease" making a profile. Too bad, but good luck anyway. :(

https://forums.geforce.com/default/topi ... es-sli-/1/

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest